Annual Game Music Awards 2010: Outstanding Artist Winners

We are proud to present the winners of the Annual Game Music Awards 2010. These panel-voted officially recognised awards provide a thorough and wide-reaching recognition of achievement in game music over the last year.


Outstanding Contribution by Composer — Eastern :: Yoko Shimomura

Yoko Shimomura's music experienced a renaissance this year, as she produced a deep well-rounded scores for Last Ranker and memorable main themes for Xenoblade, between revisiting the worlds of Parasite Eve and Kingdom Hearts.

Yoko Shimomura


Go Shiina

Other Nominations

Masashi Hamauzu
Shigeki Hayashi
Rei Kondoh
Jun Senoue
Masafumi Takada
Shohei Tsuchiya
Nobuo Uematsu
Ippo Yamada


Outstanding Contribution by Composer — Western :: Garry Schyman

With a highbrow sequel soundtrack (BioShock 2), a daring international collaboration (Front Mission Evolved), and an incredible melange of horror and opera (Dante's Inferno), Garry Schyman's artistic achievements in game music were superlative throughout 2010.

Garry Schyman


Tom Salta

Other Nominations

Russell Brower
Marc Canham
Jason Graves
James Hannigan
Steve Jablonsky
Kevin Manthei
Mike Reagan
Jack Wall


Most Significant Breakout :: Masashi Hamauzu

2010 was the year when veteran Masashi Hamauzu finally gained widespread popular recognition, with the tremendous commercial and critical success of Final Fantasy XIII, and great industry demand following his successful transition from in-house composer to freelancer.

Masashi Hamauzu


Rei Kondoh

Other Nominations

Ramin Djawadi
James Dooley
Sean Murray
Richard Jacques
Rei Kondoh
Tomori Kudo
Mitsuto Suzuki
Masafumi Takada


Most Promising Newcomer :: Bear McCreary

In a notable crossover from television to video game music, Battlestar Galactica's Bear McCreary brought his unique brand of dramatic science-fiction music to Dark Void, while showing a genuine passion for gaming classics and chiptunes on its 8-bit spinoff.

Bear McCreary


Masahiro Aoki

Other Nominations

Petri Alanko
Normand Corbeil
Keigo Hoashi
Manami Kiyota
Geoff Knorr
Oleksa Lozowchuk
Erina Niwa
Kazuki Yanagawa