Under Defeat -Extended Tracks-

Under Defeat -Extended Tracks-. Limited Ed. Game Box Front. Click to zoom.
Under Defeat -Extended Tracks-
Limited Ed. Game Box Front
Covers release: Myrkul
Composed by Shinji Hosoe
Arranged by Keiichi Okabe / Satoru Kosaki / Takayuki Aihara / Toshimichi Isoe / Yousuke Yasui
Published by SuperSweep
Catalog number T-46704M
Release type Game Soundtrack - Promo / Enclosure
Format 1 CD - 11 tracks
Release date March 23, 2006
Duration 00:51:24
Rate the album!


Under Defeat Extended Tracks was included with the limited edition version of the Dreamcast release of Under Defeat. It features extended versions of the stage themes created for the Dreamcast version of the game. In addition, it features remixes by a variety of members from SuperSweep, Monaca, and others. How does it compare to the original soundtrack and is it a nice supplemental album to have?


The stage themes, for the most part, are just like the original. However, since they are extended, Shinji Hosoe throws in extra synthesizer and guitar solos. These, in essence, make the tracks overall a much more enjoyable experience. However, it's something of a shame that the boss themes didn't receive the same treatment. Those wishing to hear the Dreamcast version of the soundtrack are better checking out the Under Defeat DC Edition Soundtracks instead.

Given that, I'll focus mainly on the arranged versions featured on this album. Yousuke Yasui's "Can't come back," is definitely in the spirit of his more recent soundtrack efforts. It's a retro-themed remix that really adds a lot of charm to the original. While it doesn't offer much in terms of expansion, it's still a nice take on the source material. It's not bad, but given his recent retro remixes, I think it could have been better. Yasui's second remix is "Under Defeat Medley Mix," which continues the retro soundscape of the other stage themes in the game.

Monaca's Satoru Kousaki arranges "Towards a Mistake," and transforms the original synth rock piece into a jazz piece. I really like the lounge feel of the track, especially in the snazzy percussion and keyboard work. In addition, the big brass sounds complement the softer sections quite nicely. Overall, it's a very enjoyable remix. Keiichi Okabe, the other Monaca arranger, tackles the last stage theme, "Tears which died." Opening with the same melancholy piano and synthesizer, he transforms it into an upbeat dance tune with a bit of a disco influence. I really like the overall atmosphere of this one as it still keeps the energy of the original, albeit with a different soundscape, as well as the overall melancholy sections.

ZIZZ Studio's Toshimichi Isoe handles the final boss theme, "huge dead end," adding a tribal influence to the overall jazzy soundscape of the original. I really like the percussion choices of this remix as they really work quite well with the original soundscape. In addition, the vocal samples and synthesizer accompaniment really help bring a bit of an ambience to the mix. However, the saxophone is a welcome surprise, as it helps bring a bit of an exoticism to the remix.

Lastly, "To the far off sky," an arrangement of the ending theme by Studio Carnaval's Takayuki Aihara, closes the album. His remix has an interesting sound. It's dreamy, industrial, and a bit romantic in sound, due to the various elements of the remix, such as the ambient synthesizer passages, the beautiful strings work, or the more crystalline synth passages. However, it also throws in some jazz influence as well through its beats and piano additions. Overall, it's a beautiful mix and one that really manages to convey a ton of different styles, some of which I did not mention, and does so quite well.


In the end, I think this album is a very nice supplement to the original soundtrack. The extended tracks really add to the originals and the remixes, for the most part, do a great job at imagining Hosoe's originals in a variety of interesting ways. I only wish that some of the boss themes were included in the extended portion of the original, as I'd love to see what could be done to those. The real highlight here, though, are the exclusive remixes. A great bonus with the limited edition and a worthwhile collector's item.


Music in game


Don Kotowski

Extend Tracks was released together with the limited edition version of Under Defeat for Dreamcast.

(Price and cat # are that of the whole LE package)

1. Can't come back / Guest guitar : Makoto Asai
2. Toward a mistake / Guest guitar : Yuichi Tamagawa
3. Way back that was shut / Guest guitar : Jimbo Syntaro
4. Storm of fine weather / Guest guitar : Atsuhide Nakayama
5. tears which died / Guest guitar : masayuki ozaki
6. Can't come back / Arrangement : yousuke yasui
7. Toward a mistake / Arrangement : satoru kousaki
8. Under Defeat medley mix / Arrangement : yousuke yasui
9. Tears which died / Arrangement : keiichi okabe
10. huge dead end / Arrangement : toshimichi isoe
11. To the far off sky / Arrangement : takayuki aihara
Album was composed by Shinji Hosoe and was released on March 23, 2006. Soundtrack consists of 11 tracks tracks with duration over about 55 minutes. Album was released by SuperSweep.

CD 1

Can't come back
Toward a mistake
Way back that was shut
Storm of fine weather
tears which died
Can't come back (Arrange)
Toward a mistake (Arrange)
Under Defeat medley mix
Tears which died (Arrange)
huge dead end (Arrange)
To the far off sky (Arrange)
You can't post comments, you need to sign up and authorize. Or you can use one of these services

  • Album has no ratings. Be the first!
  • Page views: 3279
  • 0 persons have this album in collection



Kuzgun Original Tv Series Soundtrack
Long Shot Original Motion Picture Score
Avengers: Endgame Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Wolfenstein: Youngblood - Die Kollektion von Tregenza
Big Little Lies Music from Season 2 of the HBO Limited Series
Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Yellowstone Season 2 Original Series Soundtrack
Wonderful Octave / Gaku Yaotome (CV. Wataru Hatano)
Navel BEST 2014-2018