Parasite Eve Remixes

Parasite Eve Remixes. Передняя обложка. Click to zoom.
Parasite Eve Remixes
Передняя обложка
Composed by Yoko Shimomura
Published by DigiCube
Catalog number SSCX-10023
Release type Game Soundtrack - Official Release
Format 1 CD - 10 Tracks
Release date July 30, 1998
Duration 01:03:40
Rate the album!


The Parasite Eve Original Soundtrack was principally an electronica soundtrack and featured plenty of artistic potential. As a result, it was a good choice for an ambitious remix album. The Parasite Eve Remixes features ten renditions of favourites from the score in a wide range of electronic styles. While most artists featured on the album are unknowns, some famous electronica artists contributed alongside prominent game music musicians Yoko Shimomura and Hidenori Iwasaki (aka VAG40). While the album has its highlights, the overall effort unfortunately proves somewhat muddled and inaccessible...


The album opens with an electrifying remix of "Theme of Aya" by the game's original composer, Yoko Shimomura. This track stays relatively faithful to the distinctive melodies and harmonies of the original, while offering a number of elaborations during its extended playtime. The piano lines remain as catchy and upbeat as ever, while the jazz-inspired solos and interludes are a positive diversion from the slightly repetitive original and give the theme a more substantial musical basis. The track is mixed and mastered wonderful, with the heavy drum work and ethereal synthpads being particularly fitting for the Parasite Eve universe. This remix is one of the most accessible on the album and a solid introduction.

Several of the tracks on the album take a relatively downbeat approach. Toma's interpretation of "Arise Within You" blends drum 'n bass beats with vocoder interpretations of the melody. Among the more tame remixes, it is most notable for the way it conveys human emotions using robotic sounds. However, parts of the seven minute remix have a repetitive feel and the production values now sound outdated. Dan K's "Missing Perspective" takes an even calmer approach with its soft beats and piano infusions. In addition to being somewhat boring, it is probably the least artistically appealing track on the album, resembling mainstream chillout music rather than anything more cutting-edge. More impressive is "Urban Noise", which retains the inorganic feel and dark mood of the original, while pioneering a trip-hop style with its low-fi samples and vocal parts. Though the original is greatly distorted, the material that the original provided was limited in the first place and minimal inclusion of such material seems a sensible move.

Some tracks take a more upbeat approach. Quadra's "Plosive Attack" is written in a relatively typical club style, gradually thickening over its 8:34 playtime with new samples and compelling beats. It's a fairly generic interpretation that, once again, is rather repetitious. However, the original is transformed in a fairly convincing manner, retaining its quirky qualities while giving it a mainstream reach. More abstract is Tribal Masters' "Influence of Deep", an ever-varied blend of operatic voices and drum 'n bass beats. While well done, it may be too bizarre to generate widespread appeal. Another ambitious remix is Hidenori Iwasaki's "Across the Memories", with its rapid polyrhythms, heavy distortion, and various thematic references. It's a much crazier rendition of the original that still keeps the melodies intact. Once again, it will appeal to those who like to live dangerously.

Perhaps the most encompassing track on the entire album is "Under the Progress". Rhythmically compelling beats, industrial samples, ethereal piano passages, and subtle sound effects are all blended here in a stylish way. It's especially enjoyable how the theme of Aya is reprised in fragmented form on the piano from the 2:16, giving a hook for listeners to latch on to while bringing the album round full circle. What's more, unlike many of the remixes on the album, this one stood the test of time and still sounds great in 2010. Something wonderful, indeed. The album concludes with an arrangement of the vocal theme "Somnias Memories", translated from Spanish to English. Though the melody remains distinctive throughout, it loses some of the qualities of the original with its broken English and novelty sound effects.


About 97.8% of the world's population will think this album is nothing but senseless rubbish and find no redeeming features in the remixes. Indeed, the arrangements are abstractly styled, the originals are often distorted to the extent that it is unrecognisable, and there isn't a fragment of traditional music to be heard. However, the album will hold a wider appeal to electronic junkies out there. Many of the arrangements do a good job of blending the atmosphere and melodies of the originals with electronic styles, such as drum 'n bass, trip-hop, and chillout. It's a pity that some arrangements are either too repetitive, abstract, or poorly produced to yield a wider appeal. Most can safely skip this release.


Music in game


Chris Greening

Album was composed by Yoko Shimomura and was released on July 30, 1998. Soundtrack consists of tracks with duration over more than hour. Album was released by DigiCube.

CD 1

A.Y.A. - Theme of AYA Primary Mix / Remixed by Yoko Shimomura
Arise within You - Remixed by Toma / Remixed by Tomo for Xtra Music Productions
Plosive Attack - Cultivate Mix / Remixed by QUADRA for V3 Productions, Inc.
Missing Perspective - Dan K's Late Night Session / Remixed by Dan K for Soul Phonics Records, Inc.
Influence of Deep - DJ Hiraguri's Operattack / Remixed by Tribal Masters for BIG TIME PRODUCTIONS
Under the Progress - Something Wonderful Remix / Remixed by Kay Nakayama for CHILLSCAPE
Primal Eyes - We are All Parasites/Charlie Horse Mix / Remixed by Dummy Run
Across the Memories - DB Remix / Remixed by VAG40
Urban Noise - 112-80Mix / Remixed by Shigeo Tamaru
Somnia Memorias - Platinum Edition (English Version) / Re-Arranged by Keiichi Takahashi
You can't post comments, you need to sign up and authorize. Or you can use one of these services

  • Average album rating: 9.0 (2)
  • Page views: 24401
  • Album achieved 740 place in our Hall of Fame
  • 2 persons have this album in collection



Captain Marvel Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Umbrella Academy Original Series Soundtrack, The
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Mid90s Original Music from the Motion Picture - EP
Aquaman Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Instant Family Original Motion Picture Score
Alita: Battle Angel Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Far Cry: New Dawn Original Game Soundtrack
Apex Legends Original Soundtrack - EP
TVアニメ「W'z《ウィズ》」オリジナル・サウンドトラック「IN YA MELLOW TONE×W'z」