Ridge Racers 2 Direct Audio

Ridge Racers 2 Direct Audio. Front. Click to zoom.
Ridge Racers 2 Direct Audio
Covers release: Myrkul
Composed by Asuka Sakai / Ayako Saso / Hiroshi Okubo / Junichi Nakatsuru / Kohta Takahashi / Koji Nakagawa / Nobuyoshi Sano / Shinji Hosoe
Arranged by Ayako Saso / Hiroshi Okubo / Nobuyoshi Sano / Shinji Hosoe
Published by King Records
Catalog number KICA-1417
Release type Game Soundtrack - Official Release
Format 1 CD - 15 tracks
Release date October 25, 2006
Duration 01:09:47
Rate the album!


I do not get along well with compilation albums. I blame it on the Final Fantasy "Prelude" overdose I had several years ago; there was an ambulance involved, family members had to wait overnight at the hospital while I was in the ICU getting the harp arpeggios pumped out of my system, and I incurred some serious brain damage (which I have obviously not fully recovered from). It was a mess and now whenever I hear any version of the "Prelude" my right eye twitches. However, there is one compilation album that I can listen to without any side effects: Ridge Racers 2 Direct Audio. What is essentially a SamplingMasters remix EP sandwiched between tracks that were already released on other albums actually turns out to be a pretty good disc that's worth the ride.


Hiroshi Okubo revisits the opening themes from the first Ridge Racers album with hardly any extra arrangement save for the vocals on "Scream", giving the disc a hefty spin of deja vu right from the get-go. Thankfully, the next six tracks are varied and exciting remixes of old Ridge Racer tunes, ranging from the hard beats of Okubo's "Rage Racer" to the dub reggae of Ayako Saso's "Heart of Hearts" mix. The highlight of the arrangements is Shinji Hosoe's "Rotten7", complete with a throbbing old-school SamplingMasters beat and off-kilter vocal samples, providing even more evidence that Hosoe is supremely skilled with remixing (as if that was necessary). It's clear that the middle portion of the disc received the most effort in production, and it shows.

Following the arrangements come a big chunk of tunes from the fantastic Ridge Racer Type 4 album, but instead of giving you the 411 on those tracks I'm going to encourage you to hunt down a copy of its soundtrack and enjoy it in its entirety instead: it's a great soundtrack that doesn't deserve to be chopped up or randomized on other discs. Kota Takahashi's... uh, euphoric track "Euphoria" from Ridge Racer V is as enjoyable and simultaneously driving and etherial as it ever was and is a nice addition even though it's unchanged from its original soundtrack version. Sanodg also remixes "Paris" from Ridge Racer V, and while it's quite enjoyable it doesn't offer much that the original or Ridge Racer V Official Bootleg arrangement do not.

The one proper new track on the album (joy!) comes from Junichi Nakatsuru, the man who has been delegated to crankin' out smooth jazz tunes for all of the endings of the recent Ridge Racer games, in the form of "Mellow Curves". Quite reminiscent of his preceding "Calm" from the first Ridge Racers Direct Audio and the proceeding "Layover" from Ridge Racer 6, Nakatsuru calmly hits the nail square on the head once again with his marriage of jazz fusion and light orchestral elements, providing a mellow end to a fairly energetic disc.


For an album that only has one real new theme on it, Ridge Racers 2 Direct Audio is still a surprisingly worthwhile listen. The SamplingMasters remixes give the disc solid ground to dance on and the bookends, while superfluous in the light of the rest of the Ridge Racer catalog, are still enjoyable on their own. If you're a dedicated Ridge Racer fan be prepared for a heavy dose of familiarity. My advice? Enjoy the tunes, but keep a phone nearby while you're listening, just in case you need to call yourself an ambulance.


Music in game


Tommy Ciulla

-Music Credits-

01 : Scream / music by Hiroshi Okubo
02 : Departure Lounge 2 / music by Hiroshi Okubo
03 : Rage Racer Remix / music by Hiroshi Okubo / arranged by Hiroshi Okubo
04 : Rotten7 Remix / music by Megaten / arranged by SamplingMasters MEGA
05 : Kamikaze Remix / music by AYA / arranged by SamplingMasters AYA
06 : Heart of Hearts Remix / music by AYA / arranged by SamplingMasters AYA
07 : Heat Floor Remix / music by Megaten / arranged by SamplingMasters MEGA
08 : Paris Remix / music by Sanodg / arranged by Sanodg
09 : Pearl Blue Soul / music by Hiroshi Okubo
10 : Burnin' Rubber / music by Hiroshi Okubo
11 : Quiet Curves / music by Asuka Sakai + Hiroshi Okubo
12 : The Objective / music by Koji Nakagawa
13 : EXH NOTES / music by Sanodg
14 : Euphoria / music by Kohta Takahashi
15 : Mellow Curves / music by Junichi Nakatsuru

"Pearl Blue Soul", "Burnin' Rubber", "Quiet Curves", and "The Objective" are also on the R4 / Ridge Racer Type 4 / Direct Audio album.
"Euphoria" is also on the Ridge Racer V Original Soundtrack.
Album was composed by Asuka Sakai / Ayako Saso / Hiroshi Okubo / Junichi Nakatsuru / Kohta Takahashi / Koji Nakagawa / Nobuyoshi Sano / Shinji Hosoe and was released on October 25, 2006. Soundtrack consists of 15 tracks tracks with duration over more than hour. Album was released by King Records.

CD 1

Departure Lounge 2
Rage Racer Remix
Rotten7 Remix
Kamikaze Remix
Heart of Hearts Remix
Heart Floor Remix
Paris Remix
Pearl Blue Soul
Burnin' Rubber
Quiet Curves
The Objective
Mellow Curves
You can't post comments, you need to sign up and authorize. Or you can use one of these services

  • Average album rating: 8.5 (2)
  • Page views: 10042
  • 1 person have this album in collection



Полицейский с Рублёвки. Новогодний беспредел 2 Музыка к сериалу
Death Stranding: Timefall (Original Music from the World of Death Stranding)
Borderlands 3 Original Game Soundtrack
First Christmas That I Loved You From the Netflix Film Let It Snow
Jumanji: The Next Level Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Bad Boys For Life Soundtrack
Бывшие Музыка к сериалу
Mandalorian: Chapter 1 Original Score, The
NFS: Heat